JSS COLLEGE FOR WOMEN (Autonomous)

Saraswathipuram

Mysore – 570 009

Women Empowerment Cell

The Women Empowerment cell of JSS College for Women is active in the college since 2010 to empower girl students, to enhance understanding of issues related to women and to make the college campus a safe place for women students and faculty members. It also provides a platform for women to share their experiences and views regarding their status in the society and to suggest ways to improve and empower themselves. Aiming at intellectual and social elevate the female students, the cell stands for facilitating women's empowerment through guest lectures, seminars, awareness programs and other welfare activities.

1. VISION

Women Empowerment and building Competencies

2. Mission

- To empower the women in raising voice against Gender Discrimination
- To educate students towards gender sensitization.
- > To impart knowledge on legal rights, social responsibilities and health and hygiene of women.

3.Objectives

- To promote culture of respect and equality for female folk.
- ➤ To provide opportunities for conduction of seminar, workshop, special lecture programmes
- > To create a conducive environment for female gender to share their problems.
- To include NSS students of our college to interact with rural and urban women who lack awareness in order to educate about specific health issues
- To help women students understand their strength and potentiality.
- > To provide and maintain a dignified, congenial working environment for women employees and students.

4. Roles of Women Empowerment Cell

- Creating awareness about gender sensitization among students and staff.
- > Arranging of counseling programmes.
- Conducting various competitions to encourage their artistic talents for creative thinking
- ➤ Arranging legal related programmes

> Arranging Classes for Competitive examination in association with Career and Counselling Cell

Sl.No	Name	Designation
1	Dr. K.V.Suresha	Chairman
2	Smt. D.M. Nalina Kumari	Member
3	Smt. Mamatha N.P	Member
4	Dr. D. M. Lokeshwari	Member
5	Smt. Roopa	Member
6	Smt. B.Sowmya	Member
7	Smt. Chandra Kumari	Member